May 28, 2022
Search
Close

Marriage Information

Marriage Licenses

One of the functions the Clerk of Court’s Official Records Department is responsible for is issuing marriage licenses pursuant to F.S. 741 and F.S. 382.021. Licenses issued in the State of Florida are only valid in the State of Florida and the marriage ceremony must be conducted in the State of Florida by an officiant per Florida Statute 741.07.

Marriage Handbooks & Forms

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I obtain a marriage license?

To begin the process for a marriage license, a marriage application must be completed.

First – Please come to our office or print and fill out the Marriage Application Form.

Second – Please come to our office or print and fill out the Premarital Statement FormDO NOT SIGN THE FORM UNTIL PRESENT AT THE CLERK’S OFFICE.  If you have common children, please come to our office or print and fill out the Affirmation of Common Children FormDO NOT SIGN THE FORM UNTIL PRESENT AT THE CLERK’S OFFICE.

Finally, all applicants who do not complete a pre­marital counseling course are required to read the Family Law Handbook. To save time we recommend reading it online. All applicants are required to verify they have taken a pre-marital course or read the Family Law Handbook. This information is also available in the Clerk’s Office if needed.

Family Law Handbook – English Version
Family Law Handbook – Spanish Version

Do I need to be present to obtain a marriage license?

Yes, BOTH parties must come into the Clerk’s Office to complete the marriage license process together.

How long is a marriage license valid for?

Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days and the marriage ceremony must be performed within that time or the license will expire. Marriage ceremonies may be performed by a variety of officials which are listed in F.S. 741.07.

Notice – The Liberty County Clerk’s office does not perform wedding ceremonies.

What identification is required to obtain a marriage license?

To obtain a marriage license BOTH parties must be present and must complete a marriage application. Both applicants are required to present a photo ID, which has the legal name, correct date of birth, and signature of the applicant. The following identification is acceptable:

• Driver’s license
• State ID cards
• Military ID cards
• Passports, foreign passports
• Alien registration cards issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service if the applicant is not a U.S. citizen.

Please note that expired ID cards will not be accepted. Information found on the ID presented must match the information you enter in the name field of the application.

How old do I have to be to get married?

Applicants must be 18 years old or older. If either applicant is 17 years of age, a valid ID is required along with a notarized written consent form of the parents or guardians. If one applicant is 17 years old, the older applicant to the marriage cannot be more than two years older than the younger applicant, per F.S. 741.04. No one under the age of 17 will be issued a marriage license.

How much does it cost to obtain a marriage license?

The fee for a marriage license is $86.00 with a 3-day waiting period for Florida residents. Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide a completion certificate from one of the approved course providers will only be required to pay $61.00 with no waiting period. The Clerk’s office accepts cash, check, credit card, or money order.  Note: when using a debit/credit card there is a 3.5% vendor fee added to the cost of the transaction.

Is there a waiting period between the application process and when I can get married?

It depends. First, there is no waiting period for non-residents of Florida. Second, there is a 3 day waiting period for Florida residents who have not completed a premarital preparation course. If only one applicant took the premarital course, the waiting period is still required. Third, Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide a completion certificate from one of the approved course providers will have no waiting period.

How do I obtain a copy of a marriage license?

To obtain a certified copy of a recorded marriage license please call (850) 643-2215 or you can purchase it directly from https://www.myfloridacounty.com/.

Liberty County Clerk of Court Contact

Liberty County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 399
Bristol, FL. 32321
850-643-2215
info@libertyclerk.com


Publications in PDF can only be viewed and printed using the Adobe Acrobat Reader version 4.0 or higher. The downloadable Acrobat Reader software is available at NO CHARGE from the Adobe Systems website. For more information on other files, viewers go to our Accessibility page. The following documents will open in a new window.